top of page

Nigeria Loses On Bid To Host AFCON 2027

Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania secure co-hosting rights for 2027 African Cup of Nations (AFCON)

In a decision made during a meeting in Cairo, Egypt, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Executive Council members have jointly awarded the hosting rights for the 2027 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) to Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania. This marks the first time that any of these three countries will host the prestigious tournament.

The move came after Nigeria and Benin Republic, who submitted a joint bid, missed out on the opportunity to host the tournament. Nigeria has previously hosted AFCON in 1980, clinching the championship with a 3-0 victory over Algeria in the final. In 2000, Nigeria co-hosted the event with Ghana, ultimately losing to Cameroon in the final via a penalty shootout.

Additionally, the CAF Executive Council members have also selected Morocco as the host country for the 2025 AFCON. This will be Morocco's second time hosting the tournament, with the previous occasion being in 1988.

In the immediate future, Côte d’Ivoire is set to host the 2023 AFCON, which will now take place in 2024. The nation previously hosted the tournament in 1984.



bottom of page