top of page

Spain,Portugal, Morocco To Co-Host 2023 World Cup- FIFA

FIFA has officially announced that the 2030 World Cup will span six countries across three continents. Spain, Portugal, and Morocco are named as co-hosts, with the first three matches commencing in Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay.

This decision coincides with the centenary of the World Cup, marking 100 years since the inaugural tournament in Montevideo. The confirmation awaits ratification at a Fifa congress next year.

Furthermore, FIFA has specified that only bids from countries within the Asian Football Confederation and the Oceania Football Confederation will be considered for the 2034 finals. Saudi Arabia has already expressed its intention to bid for the 2034 tournament. Prospective host nations must submit their confirmations of interest by the deadline of October 31.

FIFA's choice to host the 2030 tournament across multiple continents has drawn criticism, with Football Supporters Europe accusing the organization of disregarding environmental concerns and human rights records.

Nevertheless, FIFA President Gianni Infantino emphasizes the goal of uniting the world through football and commemorating the centenary of the tournament.

Montevideo, Uruguay, the site of the first World Cup match in 1930, is slated to host the opening game in 2030, followed by matches in Argentina and Paraguay. Subsequently, the remaining matches of the 48-team tournament will be spread across North Africa and Europe.

This change in hemispheres could result in teams playing in different seasons during the same tournament. If approved, Morocco would become only the second African nation to host a World Cup, following South Africa in 2010.



bottom of page